Three Thoughts From August’s DFW Scrum Meetup

This writeup comes from Quentin Donnellan who originally posted it on his blog on August 18, 2015. 

I’ve got a flight to Kansas City to meet the SpiderOak marketing team tomorrow morning, so I’ll make this quick! I just got back home from my first DFW Scrum meetup, and I highly recommend it to any software guys in the area (they meet on the 3rd Tuesday of each month, in Addison and Southlake concurrently).

I had originally planned to fly out to Kansas City late tonight, but a couple weeks ago I noticed that this meetup group was going to be hosting a talk on “Release Process” and figured, as I’ve been tasked with the role of release manager for the SpiderOak web team, this would be a hugely beneficial experience. It was.

You can find the presentation by William “RED” Davidson in full on the group’s Meetup page; I wanted to just mention a few things that stuck out to me during the course of the talk/discussion.

1. Jeremy wants to do…

One of the early slides Mr. Davidson showed us was a picture of some dude’s face, and this sentence below it: “Jeremy wants to do…”. The point was that when coming up with user stories, you shouldn’t put them in terms of some ambiguous “user” (i.e. User needs to select X from Y on page Z), but instead think about it in terms of what actual people need to do. “Jeremy needs to do this thing on this page”. And add a huge picture of a person’s face. Seriously; thinking of your “user” as actual people (with real faces) is powerful.

2. Sit down with your customer while they use your product.

One gentlemen in the room made the very awesome comment that, if possible, you should sit next to one of your customers while they use your product. That’s awesome advice. For those of us out there who build internal tools for our respective companies, this is a very simple thing to do. While I’m in Kansas City let’s see if I can’t get my team member to work on the CMS I built for them – just by watching how they interact with the thing will tell me more than any feature request ticket that they could come up with.

3. Three-legged stool

One of the big ideas from Mr. Davidson’s talk was that a release process (and the development process in general) is a 3-legged stool:

  1. Deliver Value & Delight
  2. Improve Product & Processes
  3. Develop the Team

His point was that if you focus too heavily on one of the “legs” (or not enough on one) then you stool become unstable. There was also a sage comment made by another member of the group that went something like this: it’s likely the stool will “wobble” – though it should be a goal to not let the stool fall over, as it were.

There were many comments from leaders among the group about how they were guilty of ignoring some/one of the legs themselves.

Wrap up

In all, I’m very glad I decided to take an early flight out tomorrow so that I could make the trek over to Addison to meet with the DFW Scrum group. I met some good people and definitely learned some valuable things. I highly recommend this group to area developers and will definitely be making it over to my next meeting.

Note: I don’t use Agile/Scrum currently – but I did get a ton of utility out of this talk.

Leave a Reply

